After not seeing each other for nearly two decades, the members of Elastica have entered the studio once again.

With the release of its self-titled 1995 album, the British four-piece of guitarist/vocalist Justine Frischmann, guitarist/vocalist Donna Matthews, bassist Annie Holland, and drummer Justin Welch became one of the most celebrated bands of the decade with its harmony-laden combination of punk, alt-rock, and New Wave.

The album, which included radio singles, “Stutter, “ “Connection,” and “Waking Up,” brought the group acclaim across the UK, US, and Canada, was nominated for a Mercury Prize the year it was released, and has since been ranked as one of the best albums of all time in NME, and the Robert Dimery-edited book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die.  Elastica released their “6-Song EP” in 1999, and the eclectic album, The Menace, in 2000, before breaking up.

This week Vanyaland broke the news that on January 20, 2017, Elastica entered Abbey Road Studios in London with engineer Sean Magee, evidenced by a series of social media posts. As of now, the band has not yet released an official statement about what they were up, but they have been pretty communicative with fans, which leads us to believe whatever news they reveal next will be worth the wait!